top of page

thankfulness + the boxcar coffee!

I am obsessed with this fun half coffee shop/half bike shop. Amazing drinks/food with even better prices.

Navigating the holidays in 2020


Happy Thanksgiving weekend readers! I hope everyone is having a fun & safe weekend. The holidays may look slightly different this year, but thankfully, their meaning and significance doesn't have to. I spent Thursday at my grandparents' house for some quality family time and delicious food. My fiance and I were bummed to hear one of our favorite Thanksgiving traditions, the OKC Turkey Trot, was cancelled, so we decided to do our own in Edmond! Part of our trot tradition, is stopping by Starbucks on the way home (one of the only coffee shops open on Thanksgiving). Knowing there is coffee at the end of the run is the only thing that keeps me going ;) !


To me, Thanksgiving is a time to pause and reflect on all the Lord has blessed us with, and let the people we love know how much they mean to us, which may not be easy to do when we can't gather. This season has been more than difficult and completely unexpected, but let us not become numb to the things that still have the power to make life beautiful, regardless of circumstance or situation. Some examples of the people who bring joy and love into my life are Jack, my immediate and extended family, my friends, and my pups. Taking a moment to acknowledge and appreciate the beauty and love surrounding my life allows peace the opportunity to settle in for a moment. As we navigate through the holiday season under new circumstances, let us not lose sight of the people and moments that continue to make life shine within us, no matter how dark it may be on the outside.


What are you thankful for this Thanksgiving season? What are ways you are going to show the people you love how much they mean to you? What are some holiday traditions important to you and your family that you can either continue to do or can find ways to adapt this year? I would love to hear from you and share encouragement and ideas on this!


The Boxcar Coffee & Bicycles


Annnnnd now, presenting my favorite coffee shop in all of Moore- Boxcar! This place is incredible. The atmosphere is lovely with its large open windows, bar/table/booth/couch seating options, bike shop, and more- I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone. I have visited this coffee shop on multiple occasions for Bible studies, catching up with friends, a quick stop by, schoolwork, etc. The shop is quite roomy, so there is plenty of space to spread out and keep a healthy distance from those around you. And there's a bike shop in it- so unique and different! I personally am not a big a biker, but if you are into that AND you love coffee- have I got the place for you!


The prices are great with a $4 bottomless drip, $3 cold brew, and a latte for $4.50. I am also a huge fan of their burrito bowls! They are only $6 and absolutely delicious. They also have a variety of toasts, pastries, and so much more! Side note, their kitchen does close at 1pm and the shop at 3pm, so this is definitely more of a breakfast/brunch moment.


1. The Bottomless Drip.

-This is my go-to hot drink when I am planning to sit in the shop for a while! Only $4, and it has unlimited refills!!! This drink is definitely on the strong side, so I always ask for a splash of almond milk to counterbalance the intensity of the flavor. An incredible deal/price for what you get, especially when you need some constant caffeine to get you through a long essay or project.


2. The Latte.

-Okay, so I know this is basic, but their lattes are amazing- no syrup/sugar necessary! And they come in a mug when they're "for here", which in my opinion makes lattes taste better? They also have a variety of milk alternatives including almond, oat, coconut, & soy.


3. The Mocha.

-So, I'm not a mocha girl, but I know many of you coffee drinkers are! This is my friend Taylor's go-to drink, and he recommends this one to everyone. The Boxcar mocha is definitely on the sweeter side and good for the coffee lovers who prefer chocolate with a splash of coffee ;).


And that's a wrap on Boxcar Coffee + Bicycles! I hope this was insightful and inspires you to visit this modern, classy, coffee shop soon. If you live in Norman, it's about a 20 minute drive from campus, which is good if you need to be extra productive and not get distracted by coffee shop friends!


Let me know about your experience at Boxcar and don't forget to tell me about your favorite holiday traditions! I am very thankful for you and the time you took to read this, and as always, happy 'hunt'ing!



IMG_9268_Original 2.JPG

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Click on the link below to learn more about me and why I started this blog!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page